NO REGION LEFT BEHIND – Challenges for Europe´s regions in transition

Wednesday, 18th March 2020, 17:30

Keynote speaker: Ursula von der Leyen (President of the European Commission)













Presentation of the exhibition

The Ruhr area. A European region in transition.”

Opening Speech

  • Dennis Radtke MEP (EPP Group, Member of the European Parliament for the Ruhr area)

Keynote Speech

  • Nicolas Schmit (EU Commissioner for Employment and Social Rights)



„No region left behind – Challenges for Europe´s regions in transition

17:30 – 17:35


  • Dennis Radtke MEP (EPP Group Coordinator in the Committee on Employment and Social Affairs)
  • Dr. Hardy Ostry (Head of European Office, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung)

17:35 – 18:00

Keynote speech

  • Ursula von der Leyen (President of the European commission)

18:00 – 20:00

Panel discussion

  • Pierre Baussand (Head of Office, Eurofound Brussels) – Moderator
  • Anna Lisa Boni (Secretary General, EUROCITIES), confirmed
  • Josianne Gauthier (Secretary General, Catholic Social justice organisations, CIDSE), confirmed
  • Jörg Hofmann (Chair of IG Metall, Germany), confirmed
  • Christian Kullmann (Chairman of Evonik Industries AG, Germany), confirmed

Questions & Answers

Closing Statement

  • Anne Liekenbrock (Head of office to Dennis Radtke MEP)

Until 22:00

Cocktail and Fingerfood


The Ruhr Area. A European metropolis in transition.

From the 16th until the 20th of March visit our exhibition in the European Parliament, 3rd floor next to the Vox box